Picture
So, I grew up in a home where my grandmother baked everything under the sun!  It is no wonder with all the flour exposure I had as a child my body couldn't process Gluten!  She made the most wonderful foods from scratch and never had a recipe!  It would be nothing to come home from school and see 100-200 pies chilling on every available surface!  I'd wake up in the morning to the smell of homemade bread baking in the oven, dough rising on the table, and a breakfast of fried bread dough waiting for me.  My most favorite childhood food memory includes Grilled Cheese on my grandmother's homemade bread.  We ate it for breakfast, it wasn't until I was later in school that I realized no one else ate Grilled Cheese as a breakfast meal.  Everyone else was used to it being a side to Tomato Soup.  Completely unheard of in my house! 

Her bread was perfectly fluffy and she would butter on both sides before frying it in a cast iron skillet.  Then she would add three slices of Velvetta Cheese before placing a browned piece of bread on top of the other.  It was nothing short of mouth watering deliciousness!!!  Looking back on those days, I regret not letting her know how wonderful her food truly was. 

I also enjoyed his bread wrapped around Beef Hotdogs and the wonderful fluffy rolls it made that paired perfectly with her Spaghetti. 

I always tried to get a written recipe of my Grandmother's bread, so at least someone could carry the legacy along.  She always mentioned that no one took the time to learn.  Twice she let me "help" her make the bread and there was absolutely no measuring of ingredients involved.  She dumped this and dumped that, faster than I could write it down, telling me oh you just know.  I actually caught her adding secret ingredients when she was having me do other tasks to occupy me.  She was the matriarch of our family and I am sure her bread was something she thought went a long with that.  I feel also that she felt someday she'd pass the legacy along but not until she was ready to.  Sadly, once Dementia had it's awful hand on my Grandmother those recipes became locked within her.  She tried for a while to still make things and did well at first hiding her disease, but alas it did overcome her. 

May 5th, 2013, my Grandmother, went to sleep until Jesus comes.  When I think of my Grandmother, I think of family, get together's, great food, and most importantly love.  She had so much love for her family and she expressed it in her cooking. 

All my life I have searched for something like that yummy Grilled Cheese.  Nothing came close.  The bread is always off.  So when I was diagnosed with Celiac and became Gluten-Free I felt the search had officially ended.

At first I thought, "Hey, I don't eat a lot of sandwiches, this no bread thing won't be that hard."  Then I remembered all the sandwiches I do eat and cookouts and even as simple as bread with dinner.  So I began buying small loaves of various Gluten Free breads at the market.  Everything either tasted of cardboard, molded very quickly, was hard and heavy, or was dry as the desert.  So again, I put bread on the back burner.  I'd tired of paying so much and it just being disappointing. 

About a month ago, my Aunt Denise did a home party for me.  As I was setting up and waiting for the guests to arrive she was busy putting out a delicious looking meat tray.  I had by this point gotten used to people looking at me weird when I just put the deli meat and cheese on my plate and no roll.  My Aunt was so excited to tell me she had been to Martin's Food Market and brought home some bread for me to eat my sandwich on.  I looked at her at little worried, as I said before, because all the breads I tried were not worth it.  She told me she had picked up a loaf of bread and a lady stopped her.  The lady knew my Aunt was unfamiliar with the Gluten-Free aisle and then told her she needed to try Udi's.  Aunt Denise looked around and the lady took her further down the aisle to the freezer section.  She told my Aunt how wonderfully it thaws, how great it tastes, and best of all that you can just take out what you need and leave the rest in the freezer for longer shelf life.  My Aunt scooped it up so I would have some bread too.  Both my Aunt and I ate our sandwiches on that bread that night and it was THE BOMB!  I couldn't believe it!  I actually picked up the package and looked at it again!  I knew from then on, I wouldn't make my own bread or purchase any other type.  Udi's was it!

I was supposed to leave the party with the remainder of the bread but had to go to do another party and in the commotion left without it.  My Aunt called me the next morning to say that later my Uncle came home and had made some sandwiches.  He accidentally used Udi's instead of the regular bread and was raving to my Aunt how good the bread was.  When she saw that he was eating the Gluten-Free bread she couldn't help but laugh.  When she told him the bread was Gluten-Free he couldn't believe it. 

The very next marketing I added Udi's to our grocery order and had my husband try it, he too loved it!  It is now a Morgan Household staple! 

On another note, I have also tried Udi's pizza and it's pretty darn delicious too!  I am a true pizza conersuer and

Gluten-Free doesn't have to be flavorless or depressing.  There are good companies out there with good products.  Check out everything else Udi's has to offer at their website www,udisglutenfree.com 

Udi's does have some items available for purchase via their website.  Locally Martin's Food Market carries this brand.

Hurry right now they have a coupon for $1 off One Udi's Gluten-Free Food.




Leave a Reply.