So one of the things I feel my family has known me for is my chili.  If it's cold, I'm making chili.  Of course I have my own super secret recipe.  After being diagnosed with Celiac I realized my chili was not Gluten Free :(  So the secrets out.  The thing that made my chili was the seasoning packet.  Said seasoning packet contains Gluten.  What is that all about!?!  Let me them you, I was determined to not lose my family title as the chili maker.  So I tried many variations of chili.  Each one seemed more disappointing than the last.  My poor husband (a.k.a. the Guinea Pig), ate each version with no complaints.  I did see him sneak hot sauce and crackers into my concoctions, which was not a normal for my previous chili.  I was brokenhearted and embarrassed.    I had all but given up on making chili when it hit me, less is more.  To put it simply and quote an old adage, K.I.S.S. it (keep it simple stupid.  I was going about this whole chili thing wrong.  I needed to chill out for it to come to me and the results came with an even better version of Chili.  One that everyone raves about and that my husband likes even better than older Gluten-filled one.

Simple Chili Recipe

Ingredients:
1 1/2lbs Ground Turkey (or lean ground beef if you prefer)
2 11.5-12oz cans of Light Red Kidney Beans; drained
2 11.5-12oz cans of Dark Red Kidney Beans; drained
1 11.5-12oz can of Chick Peas; drained
Salt & Pepper to taste
1 16oz Jar of Gluten Free Thick and Chunky Salsa (I use Mild for the kids sake but Medium is great for parties.  (Old El Paso or Herdez are my favorite Gluten Free salsas))
1 Large White Onion; diced

Directions:
1) Brown Ground Turkey and Onion in a skillet until no pink, seasoning with salt and pepper to your taste preference.  Note: Spray skillet with a Gluten Free cooking spray before adding meat and onion.
2) Drain meat and onion mixture and dump into a large 2 Quart Crock-Pot.
3) Dump all 5 cans of beans into the Crock-Pot.
4) Dump whole jar of Salsa into the Crock-Pot.
5) Mix ingredients and cook on low for 8-10 hours.  Do not open or mess with the chili.  It comes together all on it's own.
6) When ready to eat, stir and turn Crock-Pot to Warm.  Serve with some shredded cheese on top for even more yummy goodness.  We also like to serve this chili with some Frito Lays Chips.

I'm so confident in this recipe that I no longer fear sharing the recipe or my Gluten-Free Chili.  The best Gluten-Free recipes are the ones you don't even need to think about. 



Leave a Reply.