Picture
So let's talk Pizza!  Pizza for years has been an all time very favorite of mine!  I absolutely love it!  I could have eaten it every day!  New York style with extra stringy cheese, greasy, goodness!  Or my other favorite version is what I like to call "White Trash Pizza," (my Grandmother's specialty back in the day): Chef Boyardee cheese pizza kit, with extra cheese (like an entire bagful of shredded pizza blend) and cut up beef hotdogs.  I know neither version is healthy in the least.  I'm guessing over 1000 calories a slice for the White Trash Pizza.  When I was told I had to start eating Gluten Free, I was most upset about losing my pizza!!  So at first I began the search for a substitute that tasted the same.  I never found anything that compared.  I found substitutes for the regular next door pizza but why spend all those calories on something not that great?!  Not to mention the cost of the Gluten-Free version.  For a while I was enticed by the ads for Domino's Pizza which advertised a Gluten-Free pizza.  With the closest an hour away I even thought of traveling just to try it.  Research proved that this pizza really isn't Gluten-Free.  You'd be hard pressed to find a pizza place that serves regular pizza able to provide Gluten Free as well do to all the flour in the shops.  There would be a huge cross-contamination issue!  So then I moved onto low carb, Gluten Free alternatives and found the Portabella Mushroom Pizza.  Wow!  Can I say LOVE!  My family even loves it and it has a lot less calories and costs a fraction of the price.  This recipe is not just for those eating Gluten Free but it works for everyone including those watching their sugar and carb intake!  Give it a try and let me know what you think or how you altered it to your taste.

Portabella Mushroom Pizza

4-6 Large Portabella Mushrooms
1 Can Gluten Free Pizza Sauce (I like Don Pepino)
1 Cup Lowfat Shredded Cheese
Gluten Free Turkey Pepperoni (or whatever else you like on your pizza, sometimes I do olives and/or onions)
Olive Oil

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly spray non-stick pan with Gluten Free cooking spray.
2) Wipe mushrooms with a slightly damp paper towel.  Remove Stem and throw away. Using a spoon, scoop out gills inside of mushroom cap and discard. 
3) Coat the tops of each mushroom with a light layer of olive oil and arrange on non-stick pan.  Cook in preheated oven for 5 minutes (if mushrooms are very large add an additional 2 minutes)
4) Take pan out of oven and scoop 1 Tbsp of Pizza Sauce into each mushroom top.  Then layer with desired toppings and cheese. 
5) Put pan back in the oven and bake for an additional 20 minutes or until the cheese is melted and golden brown.
6) They will be VERY hot!  Allow to cool 8-10 minutes before serving.  En




Leave a Reply.