Picture
If there is one thing I miss more than anything with going Gluten Free it is Italian Food.  I made it a mission to find acceptable alternatives for my whole family.  At first I tried a large variety of different corn and rice based noodles.  They weren't bad, they just didn't taste like spaghetti noodles.  My husband, whom only eats Gluten Free at home that I cook, when he asked, "What's for dinner?" and my response was, "Spaghetti," anyone could tell he wasn't thrilled (probably because he would stick his tongue out.  Note that before I went Gluten Free my husband never complained about my spaghetti.  It wasn't my sauce, surprisingly I always made a Gluten Free tomato  sauce.  The only thing that changed was that the noodles went Gluten Free.  Even if I follow the directions to the tee I end up with clumps of noodles stuck together.  (Note: if I had to pick my favorite Gluten Free noodle, I would say iSo after vesting money and calories in choices that were not favored by me or my family, I decided to find something better.

That's when I found Spaghetti Squash!  I made my sauce as I always do and substituted the noodles with the spaghetti squash.  Guess what my family, including husband, loved it.  My husband now in fact prefers spaghetti squash to regular spaghetti noodles. 

How to make Spaghetti Squash in the Microwave:

1 Spaghetti Squash (about 3lbs)

1) With a sharp knife pierce Spaghetti Squash about 5-6 times (this step is very important to prevent Squash from exploding). Place on a doubled paper towel in the microwave.
2) Microwave on High for 10-12 minutes, rotating/turning at least 3 times during cooking (Squash should give a little when cooked thoroughly).
3) Remove squash and allow to cool 5-10 minutes!  It will be very hot!
4) Cut squash in half lengthwise and remove seeds and discard.
5) Using a fork, remove flesh from Squash shell.  It will come out in strands.  (Note: I like to hold the Squash with a kitchen towel and then scrape the Squash over a bowl to catch the strings.)

Once I have completely cleaned the Spaghetti Squash, I toss with my favorite sauce.  It is a great replacement for anything that requires noodles. 

Let's take a look at the Nutritional Facts of 1 Cup of Spaghetti Squash to 1 Cup of Traditional Pasta to 1 Cup Gluten Free Quinoa Pasta:
Spaghetti Squash- 42 Calories, 10 Grams of Carbs (Also contains 143 Grams of Water, 2.2 Grams of Fiber, Beta Carotene, Vitamin A, & Vitamin C)
Traditional Pasta- 221 Calories, 42 Grams of Carbs, 8 Grams of Protein
Quinoa Pasta- 205 Calories, 46 Grams of Carbs, 4 Grams of Protein

So you make the choice.  I think it is okay to indulge in the Traditional Pasta or Quinoa Pasta (if you are Gluten Free like me) every once in a while, but give Spaghetti Squash a try I am positive you are gonna love the switch.  Plus it is an easy replacement that tastes yummy too!




Leave a Reply.