Okay, so once I started my Gluten-Free Diet I pretty much sliced toaster waffles out of my diet.  They aren't the healthiest thing for breakfast, I know, but every once in a while it is nice to change up my breakfast routine.  On a recent marketing trip I ran across Van's Natural Foods Gluten/Wheat Free Waffles.  They were actually on sale for 2/$5 and I figured, hey why not?  So I gathered up two boxes and was really surprised at them.  They crisp up nicely in the toaster on your usual preference setting.  I like one on the go with some crunchy peanut butter (for the added protein).  There really isn't much of a taste difference from what you'd expect out of a regular frozen waffle.  They even come in a variety of flavors including: Ancient Grain, Totally Natural, Blueberry, Apple Cinnamon, Buckwheat with Berries, and Flax.  The cool part is this company has other Gluten-Free options, as well as, non Gluten-Free items for those in your household not GF.  The Natural Gluten-Free Waffles do have 230 calories and 39g of Carbs for 2 but for me I find 1 satisfying.  The reasoning is that they are made from Brown Rice Flour, Potato Starch, Rice Flour, and Soy Flour.  They also contain a juice blend for sweetening properties.  When comparing with a non-Gluten-Free version they offer that contains 180 calories and 26g of Carbs, you truly realize the effects of the substitution.  With this said, I think as with all things, moderation is the key and rewarding yourself occasionally with a waffle will not hurt you.  Skip the sugar filled jelly and/or syrup products and try some peanut butter for the added protein, then pair it with a glass of skim milk, almond coconut milk, or your favorite low-fat milk substitute and it is a good breakfast to start your morning on.  Van's products can be found in the Organic frozen section of your market and of the Gluten-Free options is in the better priced catagory.  For more information on all that Van's has to offer check out their website: www.
8/2/2015 10:13:52 pm

this is really good to eat toaster waffle, really thanks for sharing this.

Reply



Leave a Reply.